The Lilies of the Field


A very thoughtful young man who visited the monastery in Goldendale last weekend had these insightful words to say about his sojourn:

“The women I saw there do not adorn their bodies with anything glorious. They possess nothing that is designed to get anyone’s attention, but instead are dressed in all black, loose-fitting clothing that work, practically. Rather, they adorn their hearts and souls in love and prayer, in grace and devotion to our Father. And from what I observed, our Father has, in turn, made these women beautiful to behold, at least in my eyes. Possibly the most beautiful women I’ve ever seen. But it’s not because they apply anything physical to themselves. It’s inward, and therefore it can’t help but end up eventually, naturally, organically, spiritually outward.”

Nicely said!

As anyone can see from a cursory look at my blog, unlike those nuns, I’m a worldly woman preoccupied with appearances, and trying, trying to remember how unimportant mere appearances are to God!

Yet I delight in beautiful things.

I would like to find more ways to use my ‘artistic’ eye to create things that will point people to God, rather than simply adorning myself and my surroundings…

I’ll pray I can.

(the illustration above? It’s the cover of a book created by calligrapher Timothy R. Botts, who uses his talent to brilliantly illumine the words of the Bible)

2 thoughts on “The Lilies of the Field

  1. I know… it’s hard! You certainly have an eye for beautiful and attractive things, but that’s not a bad thing. Afterall, you are always dressed modestly and tastefully: appealing yet not distracting, you know? I think it’s great how fascinated you are with costumes and cultural clothing. And your beautiful clothes always bring a smile to my face :)

    Thank you for the link to Rhett’s post! I had stopped checking his blog b/c he hadn’t updated for a while.

  2. Wow. I am flattered. Thank you!

    Oh, and this whole adorning the outside thing…yeah…that’s one hellish struggle for me, too.

Leave a Reply

