What Would Jesus Eat?


I have the hardest time regulating what I put in my mouth. I’ve alluded to this before, with my post about Weight Watchers and my growing circumference. You’d think I grew up during the Great Depression in a family of 12. When there’s food on the table, I am there. When there’s dessert left over, I race to finish it off. It’s quite unseemly.

I didn’t mention that I’ve sort of dropped off the Weight Watchers wagon. What can I say in my defense? There was just too much stuff out there to eat! The limitations were so tiresome!

Then I read this book. It’s called, somewhat embarrasingly, What Would Jesus Eat? This book has inspired me to rework my eating habits like nothing else before. It’s very odd. I can only conclude that it must be the ‘Jesus’ angle. My tiny brain says to itself, hey, it’s good enough for Jesus, it’s good enough for you.

I can’t say I pored over every detail of the book. Suffice to say that Don Colbert (I’m linking to his website, but don’t take that as an endorsement, it’s just the librarian in me — we can’t help ourselves) espouses what’s become known as the Mediterranean Diet. The American Heart Association summarizes it this way:

1. high consumption of fruits, vegetables, bread and other cereals, potatoes, beans, nuts and seeds
2. olive oil is an important monounsaturated fat source
3. dairy products, fish and poultry are consumed in low to moderate amounts, and little red meat is eaten
4. eggs are consumed zero to four times a week
5. wine is consumed in low to moderate amounts

What Would Jesus Eat has a week’s worth of sample menus. I’ve been following them, pretty much. It’s easy. My digestion is good. And, for some reason, strangely, I don’t feel deprived.

Weird. My being a Christian at all still strikes me as weird sometimes. But like, the diet in this book, it’s surprisingly good and satisfying. Again, I say to you: weird.

Leave a Reply

