Calorie Queens


A friend and fellow blogger read my post about needing to (again) lose a few pounds, and told me about a book that’s set her in a new direction. It’s called Calorie Queens. Trying to save myself some money, I had my library buy it (yes, I’m a librarian, but you can do this, too — libraries really do try to be responsive to patrons’ requests) and I got a copy in my hands yesterday. The coolest thing about this plan is that they help you figure out how many calories a day a person of a certain weight eats to maintain that weight. So, for example, say I’m a female who weighs 150 pounds and I want to maintain that weight. To do that I’d eat 1800 calories every day. Strangely, this works for losing weight, too. So if I want to weigh 150, I eat 1800. Make sense? You may not lose weight as quickly this way as on Weight Watchers or some other plan, but you will lose weight.

The authors (a mother-daughter team who, using this method, lost 300 pounds between them!) emphasize that you really want to choose a weight that allows you to eat enough every day so that you don’t feel deprived. Because that amount of food is what you’ll be eating every day for the rest of your life, and what this plan does is help you set up healthy habits for the rest of your life.

So. I know I should wait and try this a while before I crow about it, but that’s not the way I do things. I’m crossing my fingers, getting out my calculator (and calorie-count books) and diving in. And I thought I’d mention it.

6 thoughts on “Calorie Queens

  1. I lost 45 pounds on this theory and I LOVE it! I don’t feel hungry (well, I am now, but I’m only a little bit from lunch) and portion control is the key!

  2. WOW! 45 pounds?! Cool! That’s excellent.

    Sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet you at the baptism, Mimi!

    Thanks for hanging around my blog!

  3. Great!

    I should also point out that Alana at Morning Coffee is the one who read the book and turned me on to the philosophy. She’s also doing great on her weight loss.

  4. Hmmm, who is the fellow blogger who turned you onto this!
    We just got back from vacation tonight. I can honestly say we only ate fast food one time in a whole week on the road!! Woohoo.
    Will check tomorrow to see if I gained!

Leave a Reply

