Winter S.A.D.

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been depressed. All of the time, I’ve felt like either sleeping or crying or eating. I had a cold, but then I got over it and I still felt wretched. What was it?

Suddenly, it came to me. In the past, over a decade ago, I’d used a light box for Seasonal Affective Disorder. It actually helped, but I stopped using it when I started taking an anti-depressant.

Anyway, to make a long story shorter, I had gotten rid of my light box in our most recent move and I suspected that my depression was due to the dark season. With my Christmas money (thanks, Mom and Dad!) I bought another one this weekend from Winter Sun, the Portland company from whom I’d bought the first one … and I feel so much better! Amazing.

Also picked up a great book this weekend: When Your Body Gets the Blues, which was based on the Levity program developed by Marie-Annette Brown, Jamie Goldstein-Shirley, Jo Robinson, and Susan Casey (read the full study here). I’m going to follow their prescription for wellness:

1. Walking outdoors at a brisk pace for 20 minutes, 5 or more days a week.2. Getting more very bright light during the daytime but less light at night. (Is it necessary to use a light therapy device? Learn more about what kind of light is best.)

3. Taking the following six vitamins and minerals on a daily basis: 50 mgs. each of vitamins B-1, B-2, B-6; 400 mcg. folic acid; 400 IU of vitamin D; and 200 mcg. selenium.

Let’s call that my New Year’s resolution.

4 thoughts on “Winter S.A.D.

  1. I have been feeling this way too, and although I know its not due to S.A.D. The weather and holidays do seem to make it a little harder.

  2. I used a light box many, many years ago, too. I’m going to the site you listed and check out what they have. My teenage daughter definitely has SAD, so it could help us both.

Leave a Reply

