Fashion Meme

Here’s a fashion meme created by Emma of Charming the Birds from the Trees.  She’s a fellow Orthodox blogger!

A: What accessories do you wear everyday? I’m very big on accessories.  Lately, I’m wearing a hat all the time.  Also earrings and rings and bracelets.  Sometimes a necklace that shows, sometimes it’s hidden.  Actually, that goes for the bracelets, too, as my gauntlets sometimes cover them. 


B: What is your beauty routine? Same as Emma’s:  in the morning, I brush my teeth, wash my face and moisturize, do my hair (very simply usually), and put on a little makeup.  Shower as needed.

C: What was the last item of clothing (for yourself) that you purchased?  Purple turtleneck and denim jacket, both from Goodwill.


D: Do you use a dresser, closet, or both?  I can’t stand dressers and find it hard to use closets.  I like to see my choices!  Consequently, my stuff is strewn around the room very messily.  I do use big Rubbermaid-type containers for shirts.


E: What type of earrings are in your ears right now?  Mine are double-pierced.  I usually wear tiny diamonds in the back holes.  Today in front I have on dangly beaded earrings, with smallish beads.  Black, dark red and green beads.


F: What type of figure do you have? I am largeish.  Just on the cusp of edging into the overweight part of the graph.  Luckily, I am tall:  5 feet 9 and one half inches. 
G: Do you wear glasses?  I usually wear contact lenses, but my eyes are not very good and I wear glasses when my eyes are tired or scratchy.  I have to wear some eyewear all the time, or I’m at sea.  I’ve just graduated to occasionally needing something for small work or reading.


H: What type of handbag do you carry?  I vary.  Lately it’s been a Danish book bag kind of thing (larger)and a microfiber travel  bag (smaller).  If I’m feeling more artsy or frou-frou, I have some cloth bags I’ve trimmed with buttons.


I: What is your ideal style?  Drape-y.  Layered.  Artsy.
J: What jewelry are you wearing right now? I have on the aforementioned dangle earrings and diamond studs, a pendant with a large-ish sterling cross (Finnish), circle-rings (stacked) on both ring fingers, an AIDS “Until There’s a Cure” slim cuff sterling bracelet  (I’ve worn this most of the time for probably 10 years at least) and a slim cuff sterling bracelet inscribed with IC XC NIKA. 
K: Do you wear knee-hi stockings? Rarely. 

L: Do you *have* to wear matching lingerie? Nope.
M: Do you wear makeup?  Yep.  Mascara, some shadow, some face powder.


N: Do you wear nightgowns?  Usually.
O: What outerwear do you put on when going out on a typical winters day? I really like vests and a scarf.  I have coats, but we seldom need much here in the western Northwest.  I don’t like the more constricted feeling of coats.  

 P: What is your favorite perfume? I like wearing clove oil.  I wish it didn’t wear off so quickly.  In my  younger years I had a thing for patchouli oil that others mostly failed to appreciate.  :-)


Q: Is your motto “quality over quantity” when it comes to clothing and accessories?   Yes.  Unfortunately, relying mostly on thrift-store shopping, I’ve allowed myself BOTH quantity and quality.  <sigh>
R: Do you wear rain boots? Nope, but lately I’m mostly wearing leather boots all winter.


S: Do you wear socks or slippers when your feet get cold? I wear socks usually, but sometimes I wear my UGHS-ish boots.

T: Do you have a set of travel luggage?   Not what you’d call a set.  :-)  Luggage, yes.
U: What is your daily uniform? Layers!  Usually a long skirt and shirt.  I alternate the top layer.  Sometimes a michiyuki or haori, sometimes a vest or lightweight jacket.  More often than not, I’m wearing a scarf or hat on my head.  Today it’s a beret but sometimes a snood or a ‘turban.’  I never wear a hat with a brim indoors.
V: If you are married, did you wear a veil with your wedding dress? If not, how did you do your hair?  I wore flowers in my hair and the top part of my hair tied back.


W: Do you wear a watch? Occasionally.

X: What item of clothing always makes you feel eXtremely beautiful?  A high-waisted dress with a sweeping skirt.


Y: What is your favorite type of yarn?  Cashmere.


Z: Do you prefer zippers or buttons? Like Emma, I like buttons best.

One thought on “Fashion Meme

Leave a Reply

