Harry Potter: a Christian Story?

pottglass.jpg

I am almost finished reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the last book of the Harry Potter series.  It’s prompted me to again crack open my copy of Orthodox Christian John Granger’s Looking for God in Harry Potter.  Here’s a bit from an interview with Granger published in Again Magazine.

I’m told Granger has a newish book (published last March), Unlocking Harry Potter.  While you’re waiting to get your hands on it, his blog, HogwartsProfessor.com is worth a look.

On the other hand, in a discussion today (I’m amending this post on Tuesday, 9/11), my priest had this to say on the Harry Potter books:  “Why bother?”  Are they good enough, is the content worthy enough, of our time?

And to that I have to say, oops, probably not.  Diverting, yes.  Truly great?  Hmmm.

On the other hand, I am a librarian who specializes in fiction.  If I use this measure for all of the fiction that comes over my desk, what will I read?

This is a very slippery slope. 

I could end up reading religious books all the time!  What a pickle that would be, eh? 

Hmmm.

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter: a Christian Story?

  1. Hi Kristin, I know this is an old, but definitely not irrelevant, blog entry. I’m one of the few people out there who has never read Harry Potter because I wasn’t sure about it. And I worked in a bookstore the first 5 books. I refused to work midnights though! But, John Granger’s Again interview has convinced me to give it whirl. Do you recommend reading his book before or after reading Harry Potter?

    Peace,
    mary

  2. Mary, I’d say grab the book by Granger and have it on hand as you read Potter and dip into as needed. But that may not be your style. :-)

    Probably at least skimming it first would be helpful.

    Best,

    Kristin

Leave a Reply

