Through the Eastern Gate: Nilus Stryker

parintele-ioanichie.jpg

“One afternoon in late January of l999 I went to my altar for my regular daily practice. Usually I began with yogic song and mantra and then did silent sitting. I lit the candles on my altar and after finishing my song and mantras began my silent practice. I can’t say exactly how long I had been sitting when I hear my voice say in my own words aloud, “I miss Jesus.” I said this aloud. It seemed like it came through me rather than me saying it but there were no external voices. Clearly I was saying it.  … [more]

(this is one of many great articles found at Orthodox Advices — photo shown here of Elder Ioanichie Balan of Silhastria Monastery, Romania, is from this site, as well.  FYI, Archimandrite Ioanichie Balan wrote the book on Elder Cleopa later translated by Mother Cassiana)

One thought on “Through the Eastern Gate: Nilus Stryker

  1. I found this a tad self-centred. Of course, being an “ethnic Orthodox” means that “covert stories” are somewhat repetitive after a while. In addition, one wonders what kind of “baggage” such people carry into the Church with them.

    Orthodoxy is a slow unfolding, it is an organic and evolutionary growth in God. In fact, I would say that Orthodoxy is profoundly “unanxious”, ready to wait for the proper amount of time for maturation and ripening. This story is good as far as it goes, but the man involved in it has been in the Church for less than ten years, still a neophyte, in fact.

    This leads to a serious point to ponder. All too much of the Internet material in English available is posted by recent converts (that is, people with less than fifteen years in the Church). The situation is better as far as Russian and Greek websites are concerned, but most American converts have not learned to read the traditonal languages (where virtually all of the best material lies). So, this leads to my query. Is it not time for those in the American mission (for our small outpost of Orthodoxy here is too small to be labelled a “Church”) to regroup, consolidate, and grow further in the Faith before attempting to pass it on?

    To pass the Faith on to others, one must have absorbed it into one’s being, and have allowed it to become instinctual and habitual rather than intellectual and rational. This takes time, time I believe that many have not allowed themselves. It takes years for your soul to resonate with the pulse of the liturgy and to descend into the heart of Orthodox worship and prayer.

    I fear that I shall be misunderstood, but, I feel it important to state that we have not allowed ourselves the proper time to allow God to work at His pace. It may mean that mission is the work of the next generation. So be it. We shall lay the proper foundation, then, a Godly and honest task. We should not import the methods or ethos of Evangelicals, for they are not of the Church. God expects better of us, and, He has given us the abilities (and patience!) to do such.

    Pray for this sinner.

    Vara

Leave a Reply

