Sarah Elisabet Oftedal of the Martha and Mary House

Martha and Mary House provides a home for pregnant women in crisis.  Its housemother, Sarah Elisabet Oftedal, in talking about her journey to Orthodox Christianity, says, “I felt a glimmer of hope that Christianity was real and could save me from nothingness. Since I could not prove it false, I made a desperate leap of faith across the abyss of what seemed absurd and promised God that I would live the rest of my life as if He was there.”  I could have said those same words myself! 

But Sarah Elisabet really lives those words.  Here’s more about her journey and her current work.

(photo credit to Jim Forest)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sarah Elisabet Oftedal of the Martha and Mary House

  1. What a pleasure finding your material. My new, more relevent “name” is faithswork.blogspot.com. We’ve been chrismated Orthodox about 14 years; and was a Protestant pastor over 35 years before that. My dad came from Norway- so I was wondering about the Kristinsdottir name. God bless.

Leave a Reply

